Richard Dawkins Acts Like A Jerk About Religion; Cambridge Union Votes Him Down

We have this Smugatheism tag for a reason, folks.

Richard Dawkins and Archbishop Rowan Williams debated at the Cambridge Union to address the following proposition: Religion has no place in the 21st century.

Dawkins and Williams have debated many times before, so I suspect that the talking points are nothing new for those who have followed these discussions; I certainly didn’t find any new arguments.

The winning quote has to come from Prof. Dawkins, though:

If I were a cultural Muslim, I would have something to say about that faith’s appalling attitude to women and various other moral points.

Perhaps one of my least favorite methods of argumentation is when people say “If I were <insert race, religion, or other classification here>, I would <do something informed at least in part by my status as person who isn’t the type of person I just described>”. 

Plus, it’s not like there isn’t discussion within Islam (or any faith tradition) regarding the role of women. Or any other disagreements, for that matter.

In any case, the Cambridge Union voted down the resolution. For more memorable quotes, check the article from The Independent. But for the love of God, don’t read the comments.

(source: The Independent)

Leave a Reply

