Christian Sex, and stuff

Modern Christianity is all about relationships – and not just with Jesus. When I was doing fieldwork for my thesis, I joked that every single service I went to felt like “relationship counseling”. I was surprised how frankly pastors discussed their marital problems, and even…their sex lives. Also, I learned that middle aged white men are not so great at talking about sex. Well, I kind of already knew that.

Some Christian sex advice is good. Some is bad. Which is not to excuse and equate the good and the bad, because certain evangelicals have attitudes towards sex which are backward, fucked-up, and totally immersed in rape culture. Hey, is it a good time to bring up Mark Driscoll?

Melissa Oberstein, writing for RNS, lists “The ten best things I ever heard about Christian sex” and “The ten worst things I ever heard about Christian sex” It’s a fascinating couple of reads. WARNING: The “Ten worst things” may be TW for victims of sexual abuse, assault, maniuplation, etc.

Leave a Reply

